Eternally Grateful

Celebrating Thanksgiving isn’t a norm in the Philippines. Even so, everyone has a lot to be thankful for. I am deeply grateful for all the blessings that came my way, most of which I didn’t even deserve.

I am blessed to be able to eat three times a day, sometimes more. To have a place to call home, to have a roof above my head, and clothes on my back. To be able to go to a good school. To have my needs taken care of.

I am blessed to have my family with me always. There are many troubles, but what is important is that we are still together.

I am blessed to have my friends. For all the times we spent together, good and bad alike. For the secrets shared and promises kept. For the memories.

I am thankful for all the different kinds of people that walked into my life. A few loved me way more than I deserved to be loved. Some just passed me by. There were people who taught me things I would remember for the rest of my life. Others hurt me, betrayed me, and made me feel bad. There were those who moved my soul to dance. And there were some who left footprints in my heart. And all those people did quite a lot to make me who I am today, for which I am forever grateful.

I am thankful for all the good books, brilliant films and lovely music that came my way, for every art form that moved me, transformed me, inspired me, and made me feel.

I am thankful for all the victories that assured me that I am able.

I am thankful for all the defeats and heartbreaks that taught me things that I would not learn any other way.

I am thankful for all the little acts of kindness that I witnessed and experienced, because they reminded me that people are truly good at heart.

I am thankful for all the things that drew a smile on my face, that brought tears to my eyes, that made me fall to my knees, that challenged me, that increased my faith, that made me grow.

I am thankful for the memories of yesterday.

I am thankful for the gift of the today.

I am thankful for the mystery of tomorrow.

I am thankful for where I have been, where I am, and where I would be.

I am thankful for the things I never realized I should be thankful for.

And I am thankful because today I am alive and grateful.

Leave a Reply

