All is Well

fig3

“I think that we are like stars. Something happens to burst us open; but when we burst open and think we are dying; we’re actually turning into a supernova. And then when we look at ourselves again, we see that we’re suddenly more beautiful than we ever were before.”
― C. JoyBell C.

Have you ever experienced putting yourself into something you thought was all bliss and then finding yourself trapped in the consequences of wrong decisions? I do. And to romanticize the hell I have gone through, and will be going through, is foolish. Everything felt extremely wrong that there were plenty of times that my suffering got the better of me. I lost all hope and felt like I was the biggest failure I knew. But as I became sure of losing this battle, I began to see the light. It was the first semester of my third year in engineering. To sum it up, it felt like jumping from the top of a building with a hundred floors with every hope of ending up alive but knowing you would die. As I reached the solid pavement, I found myself surviving the fall. But the casualties were many. And most of them were good friends. I am wholeheartedly grateful for another shot at this, but I can never be fully happy without the people I am used to being with. It was bittersweet. The next semester could be tougher. But maybe I could get along better. It could be the last. It could be another one I would survive. I don’t know. But whatever happens, I will always be thankful for coming this far. One of the things that helped me get through the toughest semester yet was the Indian film 3 Idiots and its uplifting mantra: all is well. And I know that it would help me through until the end of my days, wherever I end up, whoever I become. Life is a bumpy ride. Many things would come your way to hurt you, to scare you, to stop you, to break you. But what the heck, all is well. And if you do not let it break you, it would transform you into something more beautiful.

Leave a Reply

