Till There Was You

“Then there was music and wonderful roses
They tell me in sweet fragrant meadows of dawn and dew”

I always thought I knew good music. Then I heard The Beatles. When I was a little bit younger, I was among those so-called musically ignorant for thinking that the good ones were those often heard on radios, those songs that everybody listens to, those that always top the charts. It might have been the case decades ago, but it isn’t now. After being acquainted with the beyond brilliant music of way back, I realized that that was good music. And among the many amazing artists of the past who, like them, have remained great legends, it would be quite fitting to say that The Beatles secured the top spot in my fragile heart. I love how their music could vary from deep and thought-provoking masterpieces like Strawberry Fields Forever, melodies that could move you to tears like In My Life, to sweet and charming love songs like Love Me Do. Whenever I hear their songs about love, my fixed thoughts on spending the rest of my life alone and beyond the grasp of romantic love gradually slip away and are replaced with the hopes of experiencing a love that’s just as beautiful and true as their songs say so. Their music is eclectic, revolutionary, and classic. And while John is and remains to be my favorite Beatle, each and every one of them proves to be equally significant in the band. There is no such thing as “the best Beatle”. You lose one, you lose all. I will forever love and adore the intelligent John, the sweet and charming Paul, the timid George, and the adorable Ringo. And while it hurts me that things even as good as The Beatles could reach the end, I was comforted by the thought that as the band died, their music and their legacy were immortalized.

Leave a Reply

