Oh, Gatsby

Warning: Beware of spoilers.

Before anything else, I would want to point out that I haven’t read the book yet. Well, almost haven’t. I already read about thirty pages last year. But I haven’t continued on… yet. I’m planning to deal with Fitzgerald’s written work right after I finish The Catcher in the Rye. So yes, I do not have the entire privilege of judging Luhrmann’s adaptation. But I would really want to give my half-blinded (because I haven’t read the book yet) judgment. First, the soundtracks suck. They suck big time. Boo! Second, I would like to presume that Fitzgerald’s writing would not be critically celebrated if it lacks substance. Well, yes, he regretted that he wrote The Great Gatsby. It was a flop when it was first published for which he got only four thousand dollars, and it got mixed reviews. But it was redeemed after it was republished about ten years after Fitzgerald died and it became one of the most iconic novels in human history. I just wish Fitzgerald had lived to see his Gatsby on top of the world. Going back to my point, The Great Gatsby must be a really brilliant piece. But Luhrmann’s adaptation was a rather superficial one. Just like his Romeo + Juliet, Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby was another daring but failed attempt to recreate a masterpiece. But Romeo + Juliet was a lot worse, just so you know. Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby was not that bad. But it wasn’t so good either. It would be safe to say that it rests exactly on whatever it is that lies in between beauty and eyesore. If this film had any asset, I must say that one would certainly be its fast pace. Two and a half hours did not feel like so. But like what I always say about fast-paced films, sometimes they just cannot let the emotions settle. Imagine being a quite long movie but still fast-paced. I think that simply means no film or even theatrical adaptation would be any better than the book. Well, the book is almost always better than the movie. But there are films that gave justice to the books from where they were adapted. Another asset would certainly be the amazing actors. I loved everyone, especially Leonardo DiCaprio. I really think he’s perfect for the role though, again, I haven’t finished the book yet. Imagine a filthy rich and mysterious gentleman with the oh-so charming looks of Leonardo DiCaprio. It’s not hard to fall for Gatsby. What’s actually difficult is to resist him. And I could feel my heart breaking into millions of pieces as I watched Gatsby’s tragic end. Moreover, you also ought to know that I am a firm believer in the rumored homosexuality of Nick Carraway. But I pity him a lot for being the only person to have to live with that nightmare forever. With regards to the movie experience, it should have been awesome if it was not for the noisy teenagers at the back. The Great Gatsby is the third film I went to alone. Going to the movies alone is so underrated. I would love to make going to the movies alone a habit. Actually, I would love to be going to the movies alone for the rest of my life. Oh, and yes, I have one last thing to say. Burn in hell, Daisy Buchanan, you bitch!

Leave a Reply

