If I Were a Boy

 

If I were a boy, I would love to see her when her hair’s messy and she’s wearing no makeup, when she’s laughing uncontrollably, and when she is deep asleep. I would love to see her just being herself and not trying to please anybody because that’s when I find her most beautiful.

If I were a boy, I would her write her love letters. Many of them.

If I were a boy, I would buy her flowers. Or better yet, I’d grow them for her.

If I were a boy, I would wait for hours just to see her for ten minutes.

If I were a boy, I would sing to her though I know I couldn’t do it well.

If I were a boy, I wouldn’t compare her with other girls. I’d never tell her what to wear and what not to wear. I would never make her feel any less beautiful or important.

If I were a boy, I would tell her that she’s beautiful. Always. Even when gets tired of hearing it. Not because I want to flatter her, but because I mean it. Because it’s true.

If I were a boy, I would respect her independence. I would understand that she can’t be with me all the time. And she doesn’t have to.

If I were boy, I would be patient with her.

If I were a boy, I would watch the worst movies with her.

If I were a boy, I would read her her favorite book.

If I were a boy, I would give her my jacket when she’s cold.

If I were a boy, I would open doors and pull chairs for her.

If I were a boy, I would wake up in the middle of the night and be by her side when she needs somebody to be there for her.

If I were a boy, I would never try to change her. And I won’t just accept the entirety of her. I would embrace it. Because every single detail makes her who she is. And I love her wholly.

If I were a boy, I would remember the littlest details about her. Her first crush. The first time she cried at school. Her favorite Beatle. What she wore the first time I saw her.

If I were a boy, I would stay especially when she is at her worst.

If I were a boy, I would never give her any reason to doubt my love.

If I were a boy, I would try to experience everything she loves- her favorite books, films, music, food. I would submerge myself into her world because it means I would be able to understand her better. I would want her world to be a part of mine.

If I were a boy, I would not just love her with all of my heart. I would love her with all of me- with my eyes, my toes, my fingertips.

If I were a boy, I would continue to love her even if she doesn’t love me back, even after she leaves, even after she’s gone.

 

January 13, 2016 Update:
I was quickly going through all my posts on this blog and the mere title of this post struck me. It’s sad that I was apathetic to this utterly sexist concept three years ago. To somehow make things right with this one, let’s just turn all the “If I were a boy” clauses into “If I fall in love”. Now, please read that again. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

