Rule No. 32: Enjoy the Little Things

I still remember last year like it was only yesterday. The announcement of Oscar nominees just came out and I was very excited to go to school to have this “movie talk” with my “movie buddies”. We’re going to have “this-one’s-going-to-win” or “the-front-runner-this year-is” kind of conversations… or better yet, arguments. We had our personal favorites. We prioritized the nominees, and after the Awards Night, the ones that bagged that sought-after statuette. But see, those glory days are long gone.

I say glory days for those were the days that I felt alive and truly happy. The people who love films as much as I do or even more than I do were within reach. Though already a cliche, I must say that all things come to an end including the good ones. High school isn’t forever. There’s a bigger and tougher world outside its doors, and whether we like it or not, we must step out of our comfort zone. Being separated from our friends is one of the greatest heartbreaks we had to endure and in my case, one thing I’m still suffering from.

I may sound mawkishly sentimental but this is what burns from the deepest portion of my soul. I feel like I’m forever drowning in the unfathomable ocean of loneliness.

At the end of the day, I came to realize that those talks, arguments, insults, those things that seemed little and insignificant, they were the big things. They made us friends and they will forever be treasured inside my heart until my dying day.

Thanks for the memories. ♥

NOTE:

I happened to write this because in about three or four hours, the nominees for the 84th Academy Awards are to be announced. I just miss the times when I had them, Lem and Jong, to talk to during the “Oscars season”. LOL .

Originally posted on January 24, 2012, 6:37 P.M. via Tumblr

Leave a Reply

