The Hunger Games Trilogy- All My Feels

https://i0.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m1jpy8Cdts1r7gq2to1_500.gif

Warning: May contain spoilers. Definitely has spoilers, brainless.

I just finished reading Mockingjay, which my good friend lent me this morning. Yes, I was able to finish the entire book in a day given that we had morning classes. That’s not really a shock because I was able to finish Catching Fire last Sunday after borrowing the book from the same good friend last Saturday afternoon during our Physics Laboratory class. And I wasn’t really surprised since I finished The Hunger Games on that same Saturday when I only got the book the day before. To say that The Hunger Games Trilogy managed to secure my attention and interest is a huge understatement. Suzanne Collins’ world-renowned masterpiece transported me to a post-apocalyptic realm of fear, oppression and extreme struggle for survival the moment I started reading the first few words of The Hunger Games and I never really escaped even after I’m done with Mockingjay.

The books have been the talk of the town for so long and the buzz about The Hunger Games intensified prior to the release of the film adaptation. Unlike the rest who have been loyal fans ever since, I never had the interest to see the movie, and had much less fascination to read the books since I prefer the classics and poignant reflections on life like The Alchemist and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Despite my obvious lack of fetish for The Hunger Games, my Tumblr dashboard is oftentimes flooded with The Hunger Games posts, mostly GIFs. I don’t have anything against them nor do I find them charming or whatever quality it is that will encourage me to see the film’s trailer at the most. What made me restless until I become well-acquainted with The Hunger Games is a dream. It’s more of a nightmare, actually. I saw myself watching the tributes compete on the arena as if I’m in there myself. Not as a tribute like them but just a mere spectator. I didn’t even see Jennifer Lawrence’s face or any other I’ve seen on the posts. Just a group of teenagers dying one by one. Of course, it scared the hell out of me.

After that, I searched for the trailer. I saw the movie. I did some research all about The Hunger Games. And I borrowed the first book, then Catching Fire, then Mockingjay. And I finished all three in less than a week’s time given that I didn’t have easy access to them whenever I wanted to since I only borrowed from my friend. Slowly, The Hunger Games found its way through my system and settled there.

Since various emotions are running through my entire being at this very moment, right after I finished Mockingjay, I decided to let all my feels come out in an orderly manner. Let’s begin with The Hunger Games. Apparently, it’s still just the only one to have a movie adaptation but Catching Fire is already on pre-production so the next one’s going to be released next year. I actually find the movie quite good since the feeling of uneasiness has been sustained all throughout the movie. I know there have been criticisms on Ross’s direction but I really think he did a fine job. I’m also comfortable with the alterations in the film since the author herself co-wrote the screenplay. But there’s no denying that the cast is the motion picture’s best asset besides the fact that it is an adaptation of a celebrated novel. Jennifer Lawrence is a stunner. It’s just that I found the movie’s Katniss and the book’s somehow different. The book’s lead usually displays a confused and emotionally vulnerable character that always almost got the better of her, while the film’s protagonist appeared to be a stronger persona. Nonetheless, I will always look up to Katniss, both of the book’s and the movie’s. What brought me on the verge of tears is when she volunteered for Prim. It was such a powerful moment for me. And if I were her, I would have done the same. Of course, Josh Hutcherson always gives a good show. He played Peeta quite well. And so did Woody Harrelson. I actually smiled when Haymitch appeared on the screen asking where the ice is, and I realized that it’s Woody. Who wouldn’t love Woody after Zombieland? No other actor alive can be Haymitch. It’s a character that perfectly fits Woody alone. Elizabeth Banks as Effie is also a neat surprise. She nailed it! And another reason why The Hunger Games must not be ignored is the great Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman. Another amazing, amazing actor. I loved all those interviews. Just wonderful. As for the tributes, I think they have casted them pretty well, too. Of course, there’s the ever-charming Rue. I wasn’t really affected by her death though. I don’t know why. Maybe all those spoilers from the posts flooding my dashboard pretty much told the tale for me making me immune to the pain I was supposed to feel. Or maybe I was pretty sure she would soon be killed because after all, there’s only one victor. Luckily for Peeta, he shared the same glory with Katniss. I just don’t know why. I felt sad, yes. I was just wasn’t so moved. But Katniss singing her to her death did touch my core. I was actually glad I already knew how the story would end even before I saw the film, thanks again to the many forms of spoilers. Those bloodthirsty Careers endlessly chasing them, the cruelty in the districts, the Capitol finding joy from what appeared to be modern gladiatorial fights in the arena- everything was so agitating. An assurance of a generally good ending calmed my nerves. Of course, Foxface. I would never ever forget to mention the one I’d pick as the victor if I had the luxury to. She’s just so freaking smart. It just sucks for her to die because of nightlock. And of course, the ever immortal question: Team Gale or Team Peeta? I’m for Team Cato. It’s just for the movie though. Alexander Ludwig is oh-so handsome. I really thank Miss Collins for putting that short speech before Cato’s death which is not in the book. It pretty much redeemed Cato after being presented as a ruthless killing machine.

Before moving on to Catching Fire, I dedicate this entire paragraph to a man every girl would want to have: Peeta. I’m just so amazed by how much he loves Katniss, and how humane he is. The way he loves, the way he’s willing to sacrifice everything of him- I don’t know if how Peeta actually loves is possible. He’s so selfless, from The Hunger Games up to the very last of Mockingjay. He’s the kind of person we’d all like to love us, and in return, is never really difficult to love back. What I find extremely challenging is how to resist him, which even Katniss had trouble of doing. If the world consists of people like Peeta, I’m more than sure that it is a very peaceful and beautiful place to say the least.

I honestly find Catching Fire the most exciting instalment. It’s rare that the sequel exceeds the brilliance of the first. Hopefully, the film adaptation would be better than the first one as well. Not without Cato though. There’s where they would find it hard to please a hopeless fangirl like me admiring Alexander’s gorgeousness and lacking the power and the will to do the otherwise. On a second thought, they won’t really have a hard time because that’s when Finnick Odair enters the story. Apparently the most anticipated addition to the cast, he’s surely more than enough to catch all the females’ attention without even trying. That’s how head-turning, jaw-dropping, heart-stopping, and ever-so-addicting his handsomeness is. That’s how the book described Finnick, and I hope that Sam Claflin won’t disappoint. And the third Quell, just wow. The last Games fortunately is the most thrilling and breathtaking ever. And why not? You have a pool of victors there. Nothing to expect but an amazing show. And those victors who actually helped to keep Katniss alive and are noble enough to give up their lives to keep Katniss, the face of rebellion, alive deserve nothing less than our respect. Mags running to her death stabbed me in the chest. And the morphling who shielded Peeta from the blades of fatality using her own body grieved me as well. What’s even more painful is how Peeta tried to comfort her  with words and Katniss holding her hand until her last breath. Of course there’s Wiress who was brutally killed by Gloss. The same mourning and deep admiration goes for all those who died at the bloodbath. And of course, the second Quell is as painful. Who would’ve thought that Haymitch went through so much pain when he lost Maysilee at the arena? After knowing his own share of experience at the Games, I’m definitely certain that Haymitch Abernathy is my favorite character in the entire series along with Peeta, though I liked each and every character including President Snow.

And what a good wrap-up Mockingjay is to all these. It’s where we get the most out of every character, and how everything turned out for them. This is also the one with most deaths, both the overall death toll and the demise of a handful of significant characters. But all those are never put to waste as each and every passing paved the way to a tomorrow filled with new hopes, and no more Hunger Games. I hope that pretty much comforts you, my beloved reader. As if someone would bother to read this genuinely long narrative of my feels for The Hunger Games Trilogy.

Apparently, The Hunger Games managed to seep in through my life in less than a week’s time. And guess what? Its impact would surely be like a scar. It inflicted a twinge in my heart but would eventually heal and the pain would pass over time. But the moment I set my eyes on the scar left by that pain, the memory of how it affected me in the past would surely come rushing back to my consciousness.

PS
Please do take note that this account largely consists of animal-like, disturbing, and overly unpleasant gasps, groans, and cries.

Originally published on August 28, 2012, 7:57 P.M. via Tumblr

One thought on “The Hunger Games Trilogy- All My Feels

  1. Pingback: Into the Wizarding World | Breathing Through Writing

Leave a Reply

