An Excerpt of My Life

530738_2838239727683_1274522323_n

In 4.5 billion years, roughly 108 billion men and women from different walks of life, upbringing, preferences and background have walked the earth and crossed its oceans. There existed souls as numerous as the stars in the sky and the grains of sand on the shore, and each has a story to tell. Today, I implore you to listen to mine.

In a span of 17 years, I’ve been a lot of persons. I am that four-year-old girl in her little red shoes whom her father carried in his arms when she went to school for the first time. I am that seven-year-old child who cried when she got lost in the mall. I am that sixteen-year-old teenager who nervously took the entrance test to get into the university where she would turn her dreams into reality. I’m still that girl who first came to school, who cried when she was lost, who entered college. It’s just that I no longer need anybody to carry me to school, to cry when lost at the mall, nor to continue dreaming of being accepted in my chosen school and field of study. As time passes, it is once again proven that the only permanent thing in this world is change. We all wake up every morning with something new in us. It can be as loud as a bomb exploding or as soft as a feather falling. Either way, it is all around.

If a lot could happen in ten minutes like the beginning of a journey or the end of another, then a year must hold so much more. In my case, the past year paved new roads to places I never even imagined. I’ve met many people. Some became friends, some became nothing more than just familiar faces. The ever tiring yet extremely thrilling Sunday morning engagement which involves camouflage outfits and lots of running and shouting victoriously reached its end as our batch emerged as the RAATI 2012 champion. I endured two patience-testing and sweat-inducing enrollments. I spent two PE classes with a racket. I finished a handful of brilliant books. I saw many marvelous films. Insignificant as they may seem, these doubtfully amazing yet surely memorable moments contributed so much in making me the person I am today.

A brief piece of writing definitely isn’t enough to contain the story of my life, but it will be sufficient to show a glimpse of it. I am a mixture of tragedy and prosperity, of the gentleness of the summer breeze and the harsh coldness of winter, of falling down and standing back up. What’s next is yet to come. The rest is still unwritten.

 

First Rhetoric activity- speech writing
Originally published on November 9, 2012, 8:34 P.M. via Tumblr

Leave a Reply

